Advisory Councils

Advisory Council

Bryan Cochran Ph. D.
Associate Professor
University of Montana Department of Psychology

Lara Embry Ph. D.
Clinical Psychologist
Private Practice, West Hollywood, California

Robert Garofalo MPH
Director. Research Center of Excellence for Gender, Sexuality and HIV Prevention
Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago

Douglas Haldeman Ph. D.
Clinical Instructor
Department of Psychology, University of Washington

Amanda Hirsch Ph. D.
Assistant Professor of Applied Developmental Psychology
University of Pittsburgh Department of Psychology in Education

Albert Killen-Harvey LCSW
Clinical Improvement Coordinator
Chadwick Center-Rady Children’s Hospital, San Diego, CA

Scott Leibowitz M.D.
Instructor - Psychiatry
Harvard Medical School

Brian Mustanski Ph. D.
Associate Professor
Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University

Johanna Olson M.D.
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pediatrics; Keck School of Medicine at USC
Children's Hospital Los Angeles, Division of Adolescent Medicine


Youth Advisory Council

YAC group photo

The Youth Advisory Council (YAC) serves as a liaison between youth nationwide and The Trevor Project, as it relates to young people and the issues surrounding suicide, sexuality and gender identity. The YAC submits recommendations to The Trevor Project in an effort to increase Trevor visibility and best serve the LGBTQ youth population.

The YAC is a program of the Trevor Project comprised of 20 young people ages 16-24, (to convene quarterly via conference call) that will advise the organization on outreach and programmatic efforts targeted at LGBTQ youth. Participants in the YAC will have the unique opportunity to have their voices and opinions heard and implemented into the strategies of a national organization.

To Apply

The application for the 2015 Youth Advisory Council is now available! To apply, please complete an online application here. Submissions must be received by Sunday, February 1, 2015.


Travis Amiel
Marisol Cervantes
Tara Dugel
Rachel Epperly
Eli Erlick
Madelyn Gelpi
Jeff Iles
Kegan Jones
Charlie Kerr
Luke Knudsen
Hannah Kopach
Detrick Manning
Ashley Mardell
MaKayla Reed
Anna Talajkowski
Adam White
Tom Woermer
Matthew Yeung
Emma Zyriek